An Aside – Quilts

My computer isn’t letting me edit these so I can’t rotate them. These are quilts, except the “Home Free” banner. The one with the black background was a quilt I made for a friend, to remind her that when all around is dark, the grace of God and His promises shine all the more brightly. The inside of each star had one of the Lord’s promises on it. I tied it rather than quilting it because I wanted to give it to her very quickly. It was one of the first quilts I made. I made one for my husband just like it except on a white background and quilted instead of tied. It’s very worn now. If I can get it repaired I’ll add a photo of it. We’re warmed and comforted ourselves, wrapped in the promises of God for a long time now. The quilt wears out from use, but God’s promises only get stronger in our hearts as we see them carry us through, time after time after time.

We may be in for some tough times soon. No matter what happens, never forget – the Lord keeps His promises, and He loves and forgives you. He will take care of all of us, and in His promises we can sleep sound at night and live with confidence no matter how dark the world around us gets.

Nellie

 

 

6 Comments

  1. Posted May 27, 2012 at 10:57 pm | Permalink | Reply

    One must keep his or her sanity…and enjoy life, in spite of whatever else may be happening! Good work, Nellie!
    Tom Ballantyne

    • Posted May 28, 2012 at 12:52 am | Permalink | Reply

      Being able to let go long enough to enjoy people and activities is a struggle for me. I had told my husband that my plan was to research as much as I could and then hand off all my stuff to somebody who could do something with it. Seems like it’s never that cut and dried though. Because law enforcement is so politicized and Eric Holder is a lawless thug who is in control of all federal law enforcement, and Congress is either wimpy or threatened, and the media is all the above… there’s no such thing as handing this over to law enforcement and everything suddenly being all better.

      In many ways this isn’t a law enforcement operation; it’s a war. It’s an enemy regime waging war against the rule of law and the forces loyal to Constitutional America. Complete with propaganda, takeover of infrastructure, psy ops, armed drones, assassination powers, death, and destruction. DHS has geared up as if for battle with the terrorists, but they’re not doing battle with terrorists. They’re negotiating and installing them all over the globe. The people they are doing battle with – and using all these powers they’ve amassed to supposedly use in the war on terror – are people like Sheriff Joe, Mike Zullo, you, and me.

      So sometimes normal life is as evasive as fresh-ground coffee in the middle of a failed Somalia special operations assignment, like in “Black Hawk Down”. But it’s there. A person just has to let go of the war long enough to see it there.

      Sometimes I wish I could just sit with our soldiers and let them feel that though I don’t know everything they’ve been through and can’t understand what they must be feeling, I do know what being in a war is like. I know why it’s so hard to let go just because you’re home on leave or not still in the battle with your buddies. I understand how Frodo can say, “I can’t recall the taste of food…”

      I wish I could have found a way to put that in the quilt for the wounded soldier. I want him to know I’m not breaking faith with “we who die” (as it says in “In Flander’s Fields”), or those who were wounded in the battle. I carry freedom’s torch in a different arena, but I feel the weight keenly and have a hard time letting go of it for fear that the torch will drop.

      I guess I just need to realize the whole world doesn’t rest on my shoulders. And quilting is a great way to enjoy life and know that the world goes on even if you take time to rest a bit.

  2. Carol Fryer
    Posted May 27, 2012 at 11:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow Butter, are these all yours. I just love to quilt but have no time anymore. I work too many hours and at night no less. Just started sewing outfits for grandkids when I can squeeze it in though. Beautiful quilts. I have so many unfinished quilts…lol.

    • Posted May 28, 2012 at 1:08 am | Permalink | Reply

      Sewing is so fun. Especially when you do it for somebody you love. In the past month or so I’ve sewn my daughter’s prom dress, a dress for her graduation, and a dress for my younger daughter to wear for a choir concert and her sister’s graduation. Seeing their eyes light up is something I wouldn’t trade for all the gold in the world. My older daughter especially was such a joy to sew for. We had looked for prom dresses and everything was $200 or more. So we chose a pattern (on sale for $1. lol) for a strapless dress with a sheer sleeveless overlay attached to it, and then got pale blue satin and white chiffon fabric that was on sale at Walmart. By the time it was done the whole thing probably cost about $25. The pattern was for a short dress so I adapted it to make it floor-length, ended up having to put a ruffle on it, which she was upset about at first but ended up saying it really added to the elegance of the very simple design.

      It was beautiful. She looked just like Cinderella, and the shape of the dress fit her shape so well. I could tell that she loved it, and that made her sparkle even more than the dress.

      What a joyful thing – to have some small part in a beautiful girl blooming and sparkling inwardly like that.

      She told me afterwards that she had so many people tell her that her dress was their favorite because it was simple, classic, a little old-fashioned, and she was obviously so happy to be wearing it.

      I’m having a hard time dealing with sending her off, even if she’ll be in a town close by. It was ironic that she referred to the prom dress as her “Cinderella dress” because she knows as well as everybody in my family that I can’t get through it without crying when Steven Curtis Chapman’s song “Cinderella” plays – haven’t been able to all year.

      Sewing has so many precious memories associated with it. Same with the quilts. Every quilt here was made for someone I love. I am so blessed.

  3. Carol Fryer
    Posted May 28, 2012 at 9:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I went through a period of time, of course when I had some time, that I would make baby quilts for everyone I knew was going to have a baby. Just to see the looks on their faces when they saw the quilts was worth it. Some were simple irish chain and others were pin wheels or grandmas fan. My favorite was the grandmas fan. I took pictures of them too. Someday when I figure out how to Ill post them.

    • Posted May 28, 2012 at 10:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I’d love to see those. When you reply, do you get a task bar that allows bold, italics, etc? I’m wondering if the “img” allows you to upload an image, or if /ul stands for upload…. I wish I knew how to use those things. Does anybody know how to use those? OK, when I clicked img my computer asked if I want to allow a scripted message so I said yes and then it gave me the option of putting a URL for an image I wanted to insert. I’ll see what /ul does.

        Hmm. Nothing, that I can see.

Leave a Reply

